CPS Energy Board Selects New Chair, Vice Chair

Print Share on LinkedIn Comments More
CPS Energy Board Trustee John Steen.

Scott Ball / Rivard Report

CPS Energy Board Chair John Steen.

CPS Energy’s board of trustees has elected a former state official to serve as its next chair.

At its Monday meeting, CPS Energy’s five-member board appointed trustee John Steen to oversee the municipally owned utility providing electricity and natural gas service to the San Antonio area.

Steen previously served as Texas Secretary of State and as a commissioner for the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Steen will take over board leadership from former chairman Edward Kelley, who said he will remain on the board for another year.

CPS Energy board of trustees vide president Homer Guevara

Courtesy / CPS Energy

CPS Energy board of trustees vide president Homer Guevara

The board also chose Homer Guevara Jr., an economics professor at Northwest Vista College, to take over vice chairmanship from current Vice Chair Derrick Howard, whose last meeting was Monday.

Howard is the executive director of Freeman Coliseum. His departure leaves one seat open on the board of trustees, whose members are appointed by San Antonio City Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *